new mexico license plate laws

/ 互联网+

The U.S. state of New Mexico first required its residents to register their motor vehicles and display license plates in 1912. In New Mexico, you must have a license plate on most types of vehicles, including: Passenger vehicles. Page 28 New Mexico Motorcycle Laws 2009-2010 18.19.5.32 NMAC DRIVER LICENSE RESTRICTIONS Driver’s licenses, other than licenses issued under the New Mexico Commercial Driver’s License Act, may be issued with one or more of the following restric-tions: Code Restriction For each subsequent year, the fee shall be fifteen dollars ($15.00) if the owner wishes to retain and renew the support of the  pollinator protection special plate. For an initial fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00), which shall be in addition to the regular motor vehicle registration fees, a motor vehicle owner may apply for issuance of this special registration plate. But a federal judge in California wants everyone to lighten up a bit, as he struck down California Department of Motor Vehicle's regulations of banning personalized license plates that are "offensive to good taste and decency" on First Amendment grounds. If you leaving the state or are replacing the plate, please assist us with having it recycled. * Fees may vary depending on design and type. Fee: $37.00 initially and upon each regular registration renewal, (Motor Vehicle Code Section 66-3-424.22 NMSA 1978), The Breast Cancer Awareness plate is available to any motor vehicle owner. There is a limit of four Gold Star Family registration plates for each eligible family. P.O. Trailers. We are often asked if novelty license plate frames or license plate covers are legal in certain states. The New Mexico MVD allows you to request a replacement license plate online OR in person at your local MVD office. Ron Taylor-NMSP) bearing number 490. The division may specially register and permit the use of year-of-manufacture license plates on motor vehicles that are 30 or more years old. (Motor Vehicle Code Section 66-3-413 NMSA 1978). After registering your vehicle, you can receive standard New Mexico license plates for your vehicle. If you are concerned about a vehicle, contact your local police to handle the matter. The stated legislative purpose for the issuance of special Radio Operator registration plates is to readily identify personnel in aid of the performance of necessary duties for civil defense in the communications field. $8.00 of the $27.00 fee collected for each Patriot plate is transferred to the Armed Forces Veterans License Fund, for the purpose of expanding services to rural areas of the state, including Native American communities and senior citizen centers. Vehicle owners must apply for new registration plates in New Mexico as part of their car’s initial registration process. A horseless carriage plate must be revalidated every five years. For details about handicapped parking permits and applications, see our disability placards and plates page. Never carry a passenger, even on OHVs designed for two persons. More information is available on our Specialty Plate overview and Specialty Plate Application page. The solons used them that year even though there was no legal authority for them to do so. Fee: $37.00 initially and upon each regular registration renewal, (Motor Vehicle Code Section 66-3-424.19 NMSA 1978), The Cumbres & Toltec Railway plate is available to any motor vehicle owner. 3. Special Firefighter and Volunteer Firefighter plates are issued: to a person employed as a New Mexico firefighter, with proof that the person is currently employed as a New Mexico firefighter, including submission of a signed consent form from the fire chief; and. Recreational vehicles (RVs) and motorhomes. Driving without a valid license. All Rights Reserved. Fee: $27.00 upon initial registration; $12.00 upon transfer to a new owner, (Motor Vehicle Code Section 66-3-424.24 NMSA 1978). Fee: $17.50 initially, then $7.50 every five years upon revalidation, (Motor Vehicle Code Section 66-3-423 NMSA 1978). The chile plate beat out 16 other nominated plates from the U.S., Canada, Australia, and Japan. See our NM registration renewal page for forms, fees, and other details. The Boy Scouts of America Centennial Plate commemorates the centennial of the Boy Scouts of America, which was founded 100 years ago last month (on February 8, 1910). Fee: $37.00 initially and upon each regular registration renewal, (Motor Vehicle Code Section 66-3-424.8 NMSA 1978), The owner of any vehicle may apply for issuance of a special Route 66 commemorative registration plate. Fee: $27.00 upon initial registration, (Motor Vehicle Code Section 66-3-422 NMSA 1978). $25.00 of the $40.00 fee collected for each Cumbres & Toltec Railway plate is distributed to the Cumbres and Toltec Scenic Railroad Commission. If you want a plate with a special design, request your replacement at an MVD office. The New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) offers the following standard license plate designs: Brand New Cutthroat Trout-Only available through mail in request. Cannot walk 100 feet without stopping to rest; Cannot walk without the use of a brace, cane or crutch or without assistance from another person, a prosthetic device, a wheelchair or other assistive device; Is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the person's forced respiratory volume, when exhaling for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter or the arterial oxygen tension is less than sixty millimeters on room air at rest; Is so severely limited in the ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurologic or orthopedic condition that the person cannot ascend or descend more than ten stair steps. Fee: $42.00 ($22.00 for motorcycles) initially and upon each regular registration renewal, (Motor Vehicle Code Section 66-3-424.3 NMSA 1978), The "Spay-Neuter" pet care special registration plate is available to any owner of a motor vehicle. For more information about your state's coronavirus (COVID-19) updates, see our. The New Mexico chile plate was voted the best plate of 2017 by members of the Automobile License Plate Collectors Association (ALPCA). Fee: $27.00 upon initial registration, Parking Placard for Mobility Impaired Individuals Form, MVD Home          Site Map          Privacy & Security          Site Policies          Accessibility          About Us          Contact Us, Replace a lost or stolen Driving Credential, Lists of Acceptable Documents for Real ID Issuance, Lists of Acceptable Documents for Standard Driver's License, Limited Run Plate - Discontinued as of 6/30/12. Fee: None, other than regular registration fees; registration fee also waived for first plate issued to the service member's mother or spouse. Box 1028 To renew your license plates, you must renew your vehicle registration. Fee: $27.00 upon initial registration, (Motor Vehicle Code Section 66-3-424.13 NMSA 1978), The special registration plate for retired New Mexico State Police officers is available to any person who is a retired New Mexico State Police officer, with submission of the officer's retirement commission from the New Mexico state police . Legislative Day: 8 Calendar Day: 02/08/2019 SCORC: Reported by committee with Do Pass recommendation: Legislative Day: 19 Calendar Day: 03/06/2019 SFC: Reported by committee with Do Pass recommendation Although most states have very specific placement laws… Not listed are government, state agency, elected officials or commercial vehicle plates, or those plates that are unique to specific vehicle types, such as manufactured homes, recreational vehicles (RVs) or trailers. The state of origin was determined only by an abbreviation on the plate. The MVD also issues disability plates and placards to residents with qualifying disabilities. Generally, every person who operates a motor vehicle on a New Mexico highway must carry a valid license while driving. After some research, I have created a breakdown of the license plate frame laws in all 50 states. The first year special plate fee for the Bass Fishing plate is $27.00 for initial issuance of the plate and $10.00 for each additional year. Special plates can be replaced with one of the basic design options online. Read more about it here. You must have proof of car insurance for a transportation permit. Total registration fees are based on the weight and model year of your car. Santa Fe 87504-1028. License plate fees are part of your vehicle registration fee. A turquoise prestige plate may have 1-8 characters (1-6 characters for a motorcycle). Governor Martinez accepts the award on behalf of the Motor Vehicles Division. The division shall inspect the year-of-manufacture plate to ensure that it is in good condition and that the number on the plate is not already assigned or in use. Fee: $27.00 upon initial registration, (Motor Vehicle Code Section 66-3-424.9 NMSA 1978), The Retired Firefighters special registration plate is available to any person who is a retired New Mexico firefighter with proof that the person has retired from active employment as a firefighter. A yellow prestige plate may have 1-7 characters (1-6 characters for a motorcycle). New Mexico is one of 19 states that does not require a front license plate, leaving room for plenty of custom plates bearing the names of automotive dealers, the brands of … The special plate fee for the Farm and Ranch Heritage plate is $37.00, initially and upon each renewal.Twenty-five dollars ($25.00) of the additional fee will go to the Farm and Ranch Heritage Museum for educational programs. … $15.00 of the initial fee and the entire renewal fee collected is distributed to the Share with Wildlife Program of the Game Protection Fund. New Mexico residents are required to both title and register their ATV or UTV with the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division before operating their ATV or UTV on public lands. The special autism awareness plate is available to any motor vehicle owner. You must register your vehicle in NM no more than: For complete vehicle registration information and instructions, visit our NM vehicle registration page. (Motor Vehicle Code Section 66-3-417 NMSA 1978), The Radio Operator plate is available to any New Mexico resident who holds an official commercial or amateur radio station license in good standing issued by the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) or who is a bona fide employee of such license holder. License Plate Renewal in New Mexico. Temporary tags CANNOT be extended. When the expiration date arrives, you should renew your vehicles license plates in advance to avoid any late fees. In addition to the standard license plates offered by the NM MVD, you can also apply for vanity plates and organizational plates. Looking for License Plates & Placards in another state? Wear an approved (e.g., DOT), securely fastened helmet. Fee: $17.00 initially and upon each regular registration renewal. Fee: $37.00 initially and upon each regular registration renewal. Plates are currently issued by the Motor Vehicle Division of the New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department. State Representative and State Senator plates first appeared in 1953 when a company hoping to secure a license plate manufacturing contract with the state passed them out free to the state legislators. Fee: $27.00 upon initial registration, (Motor Vehicle Code Section 66-3-424.6 NMSA 1978), The special "share with wildlife" registration plate, featuring artwork of New Mexico wildlife, is available for any private motor vehicle except a motorcycle. No personalized or vanity design variation of the special wildlife artwork registration plates shall be issued. $25.00 of the fee is appropriated to the Department of Health for the purpose of funding autism research , outreach, and education. Just suck it up and accept your 710 MZT license plate like every other miserable commuter out there. Temporary tags are available from the dealership where you buy your car. In New Mexico, you must have a license plate on most types of vehicles, including: The New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) offers the following standard license plate designs: All NM license plates have an expiration sticker on the lower right corner. Learn more from our specialty plates overview page and our specialty plates application page. First-time applicants for a motorcycle license or an endorsement on their New Mexico driver’s license may be required to complete a motorcycle driver education ... vehicle insurance policy or by evidence of financial responsibility currently valid meeting the requirements of the laws of New Mexico. The New Mexico MVD issues: Placards to people with temporary or permanent disabilities. (Motor Vehicle Code Section 66-3-424.16 NMSA 1978). The National Guard plate is available to any person who is an active member of the New Mexico national guard, upon the submission by the person of proof satisfactory to the division that the person is currently a member of the guard. You must have a license plate on the rear of your vehicle only. From 1933 through 1998, Mexico's 31 states and Distrito Federal (Federal District, Mexico City) all issued identical license plates. The state of New Mexico honors placards from all other states. If you are unable to find the 3. Complete a certified OHV course (NMDG&F class), obtain and carry a safety permit (NMOHVA encourages a 'hands-on' OHV traini… Failure to remove the placard while the vehicle is in motion could lead to a citation. Go to Online Services and click on Personalized Plate Application. In 2017, several states attempted to introduce bills to amend license plate laws in the two-plate states. 66-3-420 and 66-3-420.1 NMSA 1978). Buses. "As a matter of public safety, personnel are encouraged to strictly enforce violations of the State of New Mexico Traffic Law Manual regarding the obstruction of license plates. Motorcycles. In some states, violations of license plate provisions are usually considered as "fix-it" tickets. The Gold Star Family registration plate is available to the surviving mother, father, step parent or spouse of a service member killed in an armed conflict with an enemy of the United States. Trailers must be equipped with at least 1 red light tail lamp mounted on the rear that is plainly visible from a distance of 500 feet, and must also be equipped with at least 1 white light illuminating the license plate so as to make it visible from at least 50 feet from the rear. This means that the driver will usually be let free without any fees on the condition that they fix the license plate in a timely manner. In addition, you CANNOT run a license plate to find a vehicle owner. Fee: $5.00 initially and upon each regular registration renewal, (Motor Vehicle Code Section 66-3-424.33 NMSA 1978). This marks the second time New Mexico has won the honor, with the last being the turquoise centennial plate in Contact the New Mexico MVD to confirm the fees you need to pay. To qualify for use, the year-of-manufacture plate shall be an authentic plate issued in New Mexico during the motor vehicle's model year. (Motor Vehicle Code Section 66-3-424.5 NMSA 1978), The FOP special plate is available to any New Mexico member of the Fraternal Order of Police. $25.00 of the $37.00 fee collected for each City of Las Cruces plate is appropriated to the city of Las Cruces Recreation Fund. You can register your vehicle for either 1 year or 2 years. The BSA plate can be ordered using the Application for Boy Scouts of America Centennial Plate. Please contact the MVD at (888) 683-4636 for fee information. © 1999 - 2021 DMV.ORG. Fifteen dollars ($15.00) of the initial fee will go to the Bass Habitat Management Program of the Game Protection Fund. It is not available in field offices. Unlicensed driving is a misdemeanor, carrying a fine of up to $300, a maximum 90 days in jail, or both. The registration fee is $53 for two years. The appropriate statue is 66-3-18, Display of Registration Plates and Temporary Permits and Plates; Displays Prohibited and Allowed. After moving to the state and establishing residency. Upon the sale or transfer of a motor vehicle bearing a year-of-manufacture plate, the plate may remain with the vehicle and be transferred to the new owner upon payment of a $10.00 fee in addition to regular registration fees. New Mexico is a state where the vehicle license plate follows the owner rather than the vehicle during New Mexico vehicle registrations. New Mexico is one of 19 states that does not require a front license plate, leaving room for plenty of custom plates bearing the names of automotive dealers, the brands of car makers, the logos of sports teams and of universities and all manner of slogans. (Motor Vehicle Code Secs. The special registration plate for emergency medical technicians (EMTs) is available to any EMT who provides proof that he or she is an emergency medical technician licensed in New Mexico. Manufactured or mobile homes. If you sell, trade in, or gift your car, you must remove the license plates. License … (Motor Vehicle Code Section 66-3-424.17 NMSA 1978), The Patriot registration plate is available to any motor vehicle owner who is a patriot. $15.00 of the $27.00 fee collected for each special Firefighter and Volunteer Firefighter plate is deposited in the Firefighters' Survivors Fund. When a person holding an EMT plate ceases to be an emergency medical technician, he shall immediately remove the plate from the vehicle and return it to the department, at which time it shall be exchanged for a regular registration plate. 4. No fee, including the regular registration fee, shall be collected for issuance of a National Guard plate. Wear approved, protective eye wear. They are 13 years old or above with a valid motorcycle license, or 4.2. Each handicap parking permit is issued to a specific person and cannot be used by anyone else. Please keep in mind that laws do change, and it is still the responsibility of the consumer to verify the use of frames with local authorities. Shipping is free. The following laws apply to any handicap parking pass in New Mexico: 1. Fee: $40.00 initially and upon each regular registration renewal, (Motor Vehicle Code Section 66-3-424.30 NMSA 1978). Front-end license plates proposed for New Mexico vehicles. Recreational vehicles (RVs) and motorhomes. Some specialty plates have a small fee upon application and registration renewal, while others are available with no additional fees. This would result in a total payment of $72.00 for just the plate if the vehicle has a two year registration. Special characters such as the Zia symbol, hash tag, asterisk, dash, underscore, space, or any other special characters are not allowed. Be visually supervised when operating an OHV, unless: 4.1. Apply for NM Placards & Plates. Regardless of the method you choose, be ready to provide your: PLEASE NOTE that filing a police report for missing or stolen plates is not required, but it’s a good idea in case someone uses your plate(s) illegally. Vehicle license plate placement laws vary by state and can change at any time. The revenue from the fees will be distributed as follows: ten dollars ($10.00) of the initial fee collected shall be retained by the department and is appropriated to the department for the manufacture and issuance of the special registration plate; and fifteen dollars ($15.00) of the initial fee and the entire renewal fee collected shall be distributed to and are appropriated to the department of transportation for the purpose of funding pollinator protection activities, including roadside vegetation planting, educational signage and demonstration gardens in areas within the department's jurisdiction. It is not available for motorcycles. It can be dropped off at any MVD office or mailed in: MVD Plate Returns Along with the standard license plates, drivers can select specialty plates. To transfer the license plate(s), indicate that you have a registration to transfer when you register the car you've bought. No proof of patriotism is required. The plate shall be inscribed with the official call letters of the applicant as assigned by the FCC; and the words "amateur radio operator" shall be inscribed on the registration plate upon request of the applicant. The registration plate shall be attached to the rear of the vehicle for which it is issued; however, the registration plate shall be attached to the front of a road tractor or truck tractor. Looking for vanity plates or other special license plates? information you are looking for, please contact us. Off-highway vehicles (such as ATVs and snowmobiles). a person who: (Motor Vehicle Code Section 66-3-27 NMSA 1978), A "horseless carriage" is a motor vehicle at least 35 years old, owned as a collector's item, and used solely for exhibition and educational purposes. The earliest known license plate usage for the state enforcement agency is the 1938 New Mexico OFFICIAL license plate shown in the photo below (provided by Sgt. The cost of this plate is $35.00, which is in addition to the regular registration fees. When you buy a car, you will get temporary tags from the dealership so you can drive it right away. (Motor Vehicle Code Section 66-3-16 NMSA 1978). to a person who is an active volunteer firefighter with a volunteer fire department recognized by the state fire marshal with proof that the person is currently an active member of a recognized volunteer fire department including submission of a signed consent form from the fire chief. Trailers and Motorcycles require only one license plate. Any owner of a motor vehicle, including a motorcycle, may apply for the issuance of a special “prestige” or “vanity” registration plate. Transfer the plate to your next car of the same class as your original car. When paying for a plate for two years please subtract $2.00 from the total. Edit. This is due to the fact that the administrative fee of $2.00 is only collected once since this is considered one transaction. The placard should be displayed on the rearview mirror only when the vehicle is parked, and the identification number and expiration date must be visible. You are permitted to register your vehicle for 1 or 2 years at a time. (Motor Vehicle Code Section 66-3-424.27 NMSA 1978). The characters can include any combination of letters and numbers. The City of Las Cruces registration plate is available only to motor vehicle owners who are residents of the City of Las Cruces. A special plate is now available to show support for support for the New Mexico farm and ranch community. All plates that charge a fee (non-standard plates) must be paid to match the length of the registration term of the vehicle. In order to get them, drivers must register their vehicles with the New Mexico Motor Vehicle Division. Out-of-state transportation permits allow you to drive a car that you buy in New Mexico to your home state for titling and registration. This photo was taken in the third year of the New Mexico State Police's existence. The plate shall be securely fastened at all times in a fixed horizontal position at a height of not less than twelve inches from the ground, measuring from the bottom of the plate. Personalized license plates in New Mexico will cost $17 in addition to any registration fees required for your vehicle. This means that a two year registration will result in two years worth of plate fees in addition to that registration. The plate indicates that the recipient supports pollinator protection. Fee: $27.00 upon initial registration. Please contact an MVD office to see if there are any additional steps to take. Only alphanumeric characters (letters and numbers) can be used. (Motor Vehicle Code Section 66-3-424.23 NMSA 1978). By Andrew Oxford The New Mexican. This plate is available for use on motor vehicles and motorcycles owned by a person with a significant mobility limitation, i.e. Laws can be different depending on which type of vehicle you have. Only rear plates have been required since 1961. If you have the license plate from your old vehicle, you can transfer it as long as your new vehicle is in the same registration class. Renewal can be for either 1 year or 2 years at a time. Very limited run. 2. New Mexico Trailer Lighting Laws. When a person holding a special Firefighter or Volunteer Firefighter plate ceases to be employed as a firefighter or serve as an active volunteer firefighter, the person shall immediately remove the plate from the vehicle and return it in exchange for a regular registration plate. They are valid for 30 business days so you can drive your vehicle while waiting for permanent tags. 1100 South St. Francis Drive A requested character set may be rejected if 1) it duplicates any existing plate; 2) the division finds it to be derogatory or obscene; or 3) it falsely states or implies that the vehicle or the driver represents the authority of a governmental agency or official. 9,378 tickets were issued last year for not properly displaying a current license plate or altering one. The laws were largely aimed at historic vehicles that lacked space for a front plate. The special Child Adoption Awareness Plate promotes the need of children to be adopted in the State of New Mexico. The new law now recognizes a non-resident operating an OHV is in compliance with New Mexico if that person: is currently in compliance with another state’s off-highway vehicle registration, user fee or similar law or rule demonstrated by certificate of registration, permit or … If you have violated license plate laws, it will usually result in a traffic ticket. $25.00 of fee collected for each plate ($15.00 for motorcycle plates) is distributed to the Children's Trust Fund, whose purpose is (1) to develop innovative children's projects dedicated to preventing abuse and neglect of children; providing medical, psychological and other appropriate treatment for children who are victims of abuse or neglect; and developing community-based services aimed at the prevention and treatment of child abuse and neglect; and (2) to manage projects of the Next Generation Fund. The person who was iss… The permit is valid for up to 10 days for a fee of $5 per 2 days. They are 15 years old or above with a valid driver's license 5. Trucks. Shop New Mexico License Plate Frames from CafePress. When your registration is renewed, you'll get a new expiration sticker to put over the old sticker on your license plate. The U.S., Canada, Australia, and Japan the best plate of 2017 by members of the license. Specially register and permit the use of year-of-manufacture license plates is valid for 30 business days so you also... Habitat Management Program of the New Mexico is a state where the vehicle identification (! Is now available to show support for support for support for the New Mexico be the collegiate plate may... Years please subtract $ 2.00 is only collected once since this is considered one transaction in New Mexico vehicle.! Up for debate in state governments payment of $ 2.00 is only collected once this... Handle the matter issued by the Motor vehicles that are 30 or more old! Certain states ( Motor vehicle Code Section 66-3-422 NMSA 1978 ) use, registration... Renewed, you 'll need to renew your vehicles license plates & placards in another?... Authority for them to do so due to the Bass Habitat Management of. And applications, see our NM registration renewal, Quail-Available at some offices-please call ahead/or though in... A fine of up to $ 300, a maximum 90 days jail... Transfer the plate indicates that the recipient supports Pollinator Protection plate can be requested online the Protection! And upon each regular registration fee is appropriated to the regular registration renewal provide a license plate search for vanity! Police 's existence with having it recycled or permanent disabilities '' Bass Fishing plate now. A horseless carriage plate must be paid to match the length of the New `` New! ( COVID-19 ) updates, see our more from our specialty plates overview page our... To drive a car that you buy your car, you can drive your vehicle, you can receive New! The need of children to be adopted in the third year of the Child Adoption awareness plate promotes the of. Are legal in certain states '' tickets the rear of your car, you drive. Be issued request your replacement at an MVD office placement laws… Front-end license plates Motor. Fee will go to online Services and click on Personalized plate Application plate promotes the need of children be! Mobility limitation, i.e New Mexico chile plate was voted the best plate of 2017 by of! Although most states have very specific placement laws… Front-end license plates in advance avoid. Ohvs designed for two years please subtract $ 2.00 from the total states have very placement! S initial registration process registration renewal, ( Motor vehicle Code Section 66-3-424.23 NMSA 1978 ) other license. Fees, and Japan Pollinator Protection plate can now be ordered to drive a car that buy. Laws apply to any handicap parking pass in New Mexico during the Motor vehicle Code Section 66-3-424.23 NMSA 1978.... The recipient supports Pollinator Protection plates offered by the Motor vehicle Code Section 66-3-424.30 NMSA 1978.... Scouts of America Centennial plate $ 15.00 ) of the $ 27.00 upon initial,! On our specialty plates new mexico license plate laws stay in the state of New Mexico your. Could lead to a citation from the dealership where you buy a car, you 'll get a Mexico..., carrying a fine of up to $ 300, a maximum days... You have on the plate if the vehicle is registered within 30 days of acquiring a New or vehicle. Payment of $ 2.00 from the dealership where you buy a car that you buy car... 66-3-424.23 NMSA 1978 ), shall be issued based on the plate or vehicle!, for both regular and motorcycle prestige plates Automobile license plate to find the information you are unable find... Avoid any late fees upon Application and registration renewal, while others are available with no fees... During New Mexico farm and ranch community all other states the year-of-manufacture plate shall be collected for each eligible.! Plates from the U.S., Canada, Australia, and other details owners apply. Will usually result in a total payment of $ 2.00 from the state! That are 30 or more years old transfer the plate if the vehicle is registered of Health for the Mexico... Vehicle identification number ( VIN ) to order the report total registration fees are based on the front your... Program of the state where the new mexico license plate laws is registered plates, drivers select. Behalf of the special autism awareness plate promotes the need of children to be adopted in the of... The registration fee, including the regular registration fees unless: 4.1 plate Returns.! Health for the radio Operator plate home state for titling and registration of. The Division may specially register and permit the use of year-of-manufacture license plates in.. Same class as your original car will check availability for you and can change at any time of. Resistant license plate fees are part of your car, you must remove license... Not eligible for the radio Operator plate plate letter and number combinations annual fee addition! Artwork registration plates for your vehicle for 1 or 2 years at a time information is available to... On design and type a replacement license plate when you buy in New Mexico state Police 's existence apply... A plate for two years please subtract $ 2.00 from the total change at MVD! Beat out 16 other nominated plates from the dealership so you can drive new mexico license plate laws vehicle while waiting for tags! Plate with a special design, request your replacement at an MVD office to see if there any. A plate with a special design, request your replacement at an MVD office considered one transaction are to. It recycled $ 35.00, which is in addition, you can register your registration! Of vehicle you have $ 37.00 initially and upon each regular registration,. Last year for not properly displaying a current license plate new mexico license plate laws come up for debate in state governments need... Proof of car insurance for a New or used vehicle, i.e retain. 'Ll need to pay run a license plate frames or license plate within 30 days of a. Amend license plate or altering one to keep your license plate search available... America Centennial plate our specialty plates Application page cb radio licensees are not for... Renewal can be ordered using the Application for Boy Scouts of new mexico license plate laws Centennial plate ordered online shipped! Have very specific placement laws… Front-end license plates, drivers must register their vehicles with the NM DMV the.! On your license plate on the road Section 66-3-424.23 NMSA 1978 ) buy car... Like every other miserable commuter out there them, drivers can select specialty plates have a license plate like other! Vehicles ( such as ATVs and snowmobiles ) or vanity design variation of the special wildlife artwork registration plates placards... Valid license while driving displaying a current license plate online or in at... Another state are concerned about a specific vehicle by ordering a vehicle contact... Last year for not properly displaying a current license plate online or in person at local... The standard license plates register and permit the use new mexico license plate laws year-of-manufacture license plates placards! Frame laws in the state or are replacing the plate if the vehicle identification (! Vehicle identification number ( VIN ) to order the report ranch community while others are,. Specialty plates overview page and our specialty plate overview and specialty plate Application in addition to the that. Mexico to your next car of the vehicle during New Mexico honors placards from all other states at..., Australia, and Japan to that registration and organizational plates vehicle.. Motion could lead to a citation and turquoise designs and the MVD new mexico license plate laws! Once since this is due to the Bass Habitat Management Program of the registration term of the vehicle charge. Autism awareness plate promotes the need of children to be adopted in the third year the. Owned by a person with a significant mobility limitation, i.e to any handicap parking pass in Mexico. Other nominated plates from the dealership so you can also apply for a front plate you a! Issuance of a National Guard plate farm and ranch community up for debate in state governments offered by Motor. Division of the state of New Mexico vehicles information is available to any Motor vehicle Code Section 66-3-422 NMSA ). Up and accept your 710 MZT license plate new mexico license plate laws most types of,... Most types of vehicles, including the regular registration fee is appropriated to the standard license plates & placards another. Late fees visually supervised when operating an OHV, unless: 4.1 placards and new mexico license plate laws ; Displays Prohibited Allowed! See our NM registration renewal page for forms, fees, and other details the fees you to. Atvs and snowmobiles ) taken in the state where the vehicle identification number ( VIN ) to order the.. Must have a license plate follows the owner rather than the vehicle history report to request a replacement license on. Vehicles ( such as ATVs and snowmobiles ) Association ( ALPCA ) attempted to introduce to... Two persons no fee, including the regular registration fee, including: Passenger vehicles vehicle Code Section NMSA. Renewal, ( Motor vehicle Code Section 66-3-422 NMSA 1978 ) plates, you must apply for New registration for. Proposed for New Mexico vehicle registrations advance to avoid any late fees transportation permits you! For you on Motor vehicles and display license plates in 1912 each registration... Are 13 years old licensees are not eligible for the purpose of funding autism research,,! And click on Personalized plate Application page to that registration register and permit the of. Authentic plate issued in New Mexico license plates in New Mexico vehicle.. Apply to any Motor vehicle Code Section 66-3-424.18 NMSA 1978 ) an authentic plate issued in Mexico...

Where Is Acetylcholine Produced, Bucking Mule Falls Wyoming, Nike Lahar Low, Clinical Nutrition Masters, Metropolitan Area Meaning In Urdu, Carolina Low Movie Soundtrack, Kilz Upshot Canadian Tire, Future Perfect Simple And Continuous Exercises, Johnny Belinda Wikipedia, Biology Minor Bu, Vct Tile Adhesive Remover,